Rocktober

So in the past few years I have become extremely superstitious when it comes to baseball.  There was one time this summer when I missed a few games in a row because of work and the Giants won both games so I decided that I couldn’t watch another game until they lost. They won eight in a row!  I know, I know, it’s a bit presumptuous to think that the actions of little ol’ me had anything to do with that winning streak but a girl can dream can’t she?  Anyway, the whole point of this is that I was putting off writing a post about the Rockies in fear of jinxing them.  It looks like that didn’t really work.  I knew it was going to be really hard for them to beat the Sox, especially after having eight days off but I didn’t think they would get swept.  I thought for sure they would get at least one in Colorado but I guess it just wasn’t in the cards for them.  But you know what?  When I look back at the 2007 post season the team that I will always remember is the Rockies. If someone would have told me at the beginning of the season, **** in August, that the Rockies would be in the World Series I would have told them they were crazy.  I went to two Rockies/Giants games over Memorial Day weekend this year and the Rockies were in last place and then I went to another Rockies/Giants game in September and they were in third place and closing in on second, it was like watching a new team.  I don’t care what anyone says, the end of the ’07 season was all about the Rockies. For them to go 21-1 and make it to the World Series is simply amazing. I will forever remember October of 2007 as “Rocktober.”

4 comments

  1. SomeBallyard

    My son and I were the Rockies jinx. True story: we went to a bar to watch game 3. We left when it was 6-0 and the Rockies looked listless. On the way home, I mentioned that we might be jinxing the Rockies watching them. After dropping my son off, I turned on the TV. The score: 6-5. I called my son, we started watching again.

    The Rockies didn’t score again.

    Michael Norton – Some Clubhouse

    http://mlblog.someclubhouse.com

  2. Jessica

    Ha! I’m the absolute same way! The 2005 playoffs, oh my goodness, we’d had the air off and the windows open and were on different couches, and when we tied it against the Braves, Mom and I looked at each other and said, “This’ll take a while.”

    Long story short? The air stayed off six and a half hours. Totally worth it.

    Thanks for the comment, too. I am really detesting getting out of bed anymore, too much drama or stress or something like that to ruin a seemingly rare okay day. Blah.

    :]

Leave a Reply

